Tapatio Twists

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week.  Between seeing friends, going to the gym, finally watching Gone Girl and some great nights out, mine’s been pretty busy! I’ve basically spent the day catching up on my TV shows and made a fab chicken curry for dinner, and managed to fit in a little foodie experiment I’d been thinking about.

If you remember from one of my earlier posts when I made the tomato tart, I mentioned how I wanted to use the left-over pastry(of the shortcrust kind) for something later on rather than throwing it away. I had the idea of making little twisted strips of pastry baked with melted cheese until crispy, which could serve well as an aperitif or, as I’ll be having mine the next time, used as soldiers to dip in a runny boiled egg!

IMG_0953

I also made a mix of olive oil and tapatio sauce (a chilli sauce from the US that I adopted from my friend when she went back to the States), to give the twists a spicy kick. Considering I’ve spent the last 12hrs as a couch potato, this has been the easiest thing I’ve done all day!

Method

– Defrost your pastry and after warming it up for about 10-15mins in your hands, roll out to 2mm thick. Cut the pastry into strips and form twists by turning the ends in opposite directions. (Of course if you’re using fresh pastry no need to freeze/defrost etc.)

– Place on a baking tray and pre-bake on 180C for 5m. Take out from the oven, sprinkle some cheese (I used grated emmental; I think grated cheddar, comté or parmesan would also work well).

– For the tapatio sauce, mix 1/2 tspn of oilive oil with 1 tpsn of the sauce, or any other chilli sauce you prefer and is available to you, and lightly drizzle over each twist. Put back in the oven for another 15m. and ta-da!

IMG_0954

If you try it out let me know how it goes. Try dipping the ends in melted dark chocolate and letting it set with a sprinkle of dessicated coconut for a sweet version!

Bisous!

Leave a Reply

