Fiery Carrot and Ginger Dhal

Hi everyone!

Is it just me or does it feel like the winter snap is never going away? Despite the sun’s infrequent coucou every now and then, Paris is bitter cold and although it hasn’t snowed (yet!) it’s still really frosty outside. Saying that, there’s nothing like waking up early and going for a brisk morning walk in the crisp air. Today I was forced to because I had an appointment at 9.30am and once my eyes adjusted to the whipping wind, it was pretty glorious being alone on a simple, quiet road. When I came home I instantly made one of my special English Tea Shop teas (cranberry & vanilla – just the fragrance was divine!!!) and curled up with a few episodes of Parks and Rec.

Days like these also call for a serving of my Fiery Carrot and Ginger Dhal – just the colour will make you feel instantly warmed up! I hardly ever make Indian food which is silly because it’s super easy and I’ve spent 20 years watching and helping my Mom in the kitchen, so even without a strict recipe I still know what I’m doing. Even when I was in the middle of cooking this dish, I hadn’t realised what I was making until I sat down to eat and suddenly realised, ‘This tastes exactly how Mom makes it!!’ Which made me super happy because our Mom’s are always the best cooks.

image

image (1)

I store my paprika and tumeric in old jam jars which prevents spice-dust getting everywhere

Here’s how I did it – (note: if you prefer to whizz this in the blender, it won’t matter if you roughly chop the carrots, onion, garlic and ginger. However if you choose not to blend and eat as is, you might want to chop the ingredients more finely).


Prep time: 10m        Cooking time: 25m

Ingredients

1 cup of red lentils
3 carrots, peeled and chopped
Half an onion, chopped
Thumb-sized piece of ginger (or two depending on your taste), chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped (not pictured)
1 teaspoon of tumeric and paprika
Healthy dash of cumin, chilli powder and S&P

Method

  • Add the lentils to a saucepan along with 1.5 cups of cold water. Put on a medium heat and let the lentils gently simmer, stirring occasionally. After 15m, add the carrots.
  • In a separate and smaller saucepan, add oil and let it heat up before adding the onion. Let it fry for 2mins on a low-medium heat, then add the ginger and garlic. Turn the heat up to medium and continue to stir, not letting the ingredients stick to the pan. Add seasoning and spices.
  • Incorporate the onion mixture with the lentils, which at this point should have thickened up and the carrots soft enough to pierce. Mix well and either serve immediately or blitz in the blender to get a smoother consistency.

image (2)

Hope you try this out! Even biting into the smallest piece of ginger immediately raises my body temperature and feels so warming inside, and the dhal is so easy to eat you can easily have one bowl after the other. Try serving with a sprig of coriander, yoghurt and toasted chunks of bread on the side. Enjoy!

Bisous!

Leave a Reply

