Raw Speculoos and Chocolate tart

The sun is shining for once in Paris and the skies are a perfect blue. February has gotten off to a good start. I can’t wait for spring to come around and enjoy some real beautiful weather!

Last week in my post about self-motivation I mentioned that I had made a raw tart so I’m here to give you guys the recipe and hopefully you will experiment yourselves with it. It’s not as sugar-free as I wanted because I didn’t have any nuts in the cupboard to make the base from, however I did have a pack (or two..) of those crunchy, cinnamon-y Speculoos biscuits so I just decided to use them. I’d been itching for so long to get this tart on the road, at that point I would’ve used anything!

IMG_2235

Biscuits in the mini-blender

As I said this was the first time I’d ever made a raw dessert and although having read blogs upon blogs about the ingredients generally used, I wanted to use some different methods and see how it turned out. In the end, the result was a winner. For example, mejdool dates are a favourite for this kind of thing in order to really bind the dry ingredients together for the base as well as had a hit of sweetness. However, I’m not prepared to spend 1 euro per date (why are they so expensive?!) so for this recipe I used regular dates which I sliced, boiled in water to soften and then blitzed in the blender.

IMG_2072 IMG_2073

And it worked perfectly. I didn’t feel like I was compromising on taste or texture at all and I was able to use up these dates that were just lying in my fridge untouched. That’s what this blog is all about really, trying and testing new ways to make great food.

OK here’s the recipe!


Raw Speculoos and Chocolate Tart

Tart base

Prep time: 20m

15-20 Speculoos biscuits
1.5 cups of dates
1/4 cup of shredded coconut

Put the biscuits in a mini-blender/food processor and blitz until they turn into a fine crumb. Place into a large mixing bowl.

Slice the dates in half, removing and discarding the stones. Place in a saucepan with about an inch of water and put on the stove for 10m. Mix every so often. Once all the dates are softened, pour out the remaining water and put the dates into the blender. Whizz until it turns into a smooth paste, then combine with the biscuit-crumb mixture.

Once it has been mixed well, smooth out the paste into a a cake tin and pop in the fridge for about an hour. Line the tin with plastic wrap if necessary – this will make it easier to remove at the final stage.

IMG_2237
Chocolate top layer

Prep time: 5m

In a small saucepan, melt 2 heaped tablespoons of cold-pressed coconut oil, then add 2 1/2 tablespoons of raw cacao powder. Stir until all the powder combines with the oil. Add honey to sweeten as required. Pour over the biscuit base and gently smooth the top.

Place back in the fridge to harden for about another hour. At this point you could decorate the chocolate layer if desired – frozen berries, chocolate chips, shredded coconut or even roughly chopped Speculoos biscuits will all embed nicely in the chocolate once it starts to set.

This tart was extremely decadent – the spicy, cinnamon-y crumb goes so well with the strong, bitter cacao. Perfection with a cuppa.

IMG_2244I hope you guys try this out, it tastes so good you wouldn’t believe how simple it is to make.

Bisous!

Leave a Reply

