Fresh Chilli-and-Lime Coated Chicken

I’m not a huuuuge meat eater, I eat like a vegetarian most of the time but when meat is on the menu I definitely can’t resist. Using my new best friend, the mini-blender, and a bunch of random ingredients in my fridge that happened to combine perfectly, I made for myself and The Boy these roasted chicken legs with a chilli and lime dressing, served with brown rice and broccoli. It was a night of simple and easy cooking that gave a lot in flavour.

IMG_2290

I can’t even remember the last time I had chicken before this but I for sure need to re-create this recipe soon! If you guys want to try it out here’s what I did:


Fresh Chilli-and-Lime Coated Chicken, with Brown Rice and Broccoli

Prep Time: 15m    Cooking Time: 40m

Ingredients

2 chicken legs (or breast or thigh etc)
1 small broccoli
Bunch of coriander
Juice of 1 lime
2 fresh green chillies (more or less depending on how hot you can take it!)
2 large garlic cloves
2 tablespoons of olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

For the rice: in this case I had frozen rice in the freezer from the last time when I made way too much so I just defrosted and heated it up in a pan. Otherwise, I normally use the ratio of 1 cup of rice per 2 people, cover with 2 cups of water and cook on a medium heat for 20-30m.

Method

Set the oven to 200 degrees Celsius and pre-heat for 15m.

Remove the coriander leaves from the stalks and place in the blender, along with the juice of the lime, chopped-up chilli and garlic, the oil and seasoning. Blend until you have a paste. Place your chicken pieces in an oven-safe dish and pour the paste over them, covering well. Naturally some of the mixture will slide off in the cooking process but it’s no biggie, I just scoop it up and serve alongside when it’s all cooked.

IMG_2288

Cook the rice accordingly; for the broccoli I personally prefer a crunchy, hard texture rather than a sopping wet, overcooked veg. All I did was wash the broccoli, remove the stalk, cut off the florets and place them in the pot of rice (once the rice was thawed and fully heated up) with a cover on for 5m until serving. This still heats them up whilst leaving a perfect bite.

And dinner is served 🙂

IMG_2292

Leave a Reply

