The seasons are a’ changing : Sundays, spring and waffles

Coucou tout le monde!

I have been very absent during the past few weeks and I apologise. I’m aware that I’ve neglected the blog a bit but new things have been happening for me recently, one of which is that I got a job!

It was extremely difficult trying to find a more professional, permanent job after I’d finished au pairing last year. I looked for jobs literally every day during the last few months and after a bunch of interviews that led to nowhere I was feeling quite dejected #thestruggleisreal.  Then, I got offered this assistant position in a law firm in February and my start date was for the week straight after!

I feel like I didn’t really have time to process the change as it has occurred so quickly, and rather than switching on the laptop in the evenings or weekend I’ve preferred to spent time with the boy and friends as I’ve been seeing them less and less. Now I feel like I’m into my routine of work and I thought I can’t let another week go by without posting on the blog. So don’t fret, I’m back 🙂

Yesterday was March 21st, officially the first day of spring. Paris has been seeing a change in weather recently as we’ve had some really gorgeous sunny days (despite the huge pollution storm this week *cough cough*). With this new job, I feel like I can start making personal changes too that weren’t so easy to realise before. I’m now in a position to start saving money and use it for a number of projects – a vacation with the boy, potentially look for a new apartment (we hate our neighbours!!) and maybe even take up driving lessons again. I’m so fortunate to finally be a in a position where I can take control of my life again and I’m so excited to start moving things in the right direction!

And there are definitely some changes that need to be made on the food side of life too. Now I haven’t mentioned it much on the blog but I am obsessed, OBSESSED, with this French dish called raclette. What is it? In a nutshell, it’s hot melted cheese over a plate of potatoes and selection of sliced meats. (Raclette is the name of of the cheese and also the verb ‘to scrape’ in French, because you scrape the cheese onto your plate.) If your mouth isn’t watering right now, we can’t be friends. In the past few months, we’ve been eating this dish regularly…like, sometimes once a week regularly. It’s becoming a problem. The pounds I’m shedding from my wallet are building up on my body!!!!

This is really a winter dish that people eat especially in the mountains when they go skiing as it is obviously a very hearty meal that will fuel you up for a day on the slopes. But when you’re just eating it watching the new season of House of Cards, all that fat, salt and carbs are going to accumulate until you turn into a wheel of cheese yourself. So, with spring on its way in I say goodbye to raclette… and fondue… and mont d’or…. Now I have NEVER given up a food for a certain period of time in the hopes that I will lose weight or whatever but I do believe in moderation plus with the change in season it just doesn’t make sense to keep eating such rich, wintery foods.

With that said, I leave you my lovelies with a little recipe for Sunday Waffles that I’ve started making this past month. I realised that the boy had a waffle machine which we NEVER USED!!! Crazy I know. It’s a little decadent too which makes it perfect for a Sunday afternoon treat 🙂


Sunday Waffles with home-made chocolate sauce

IMG_2682

Prep time: 15m      Cooking time: 15m

200g plain flour
5g baking powder
50g sugar
150ml milk
100g butter, melted
2 eggs
Pinch of salt
Optional: a few drops of vanilla essence

Method

Pre-heat the waffle maker.

Measure the flour and put in a large mixing bowl. Add the sugar, salt and baking powder.

Put the butter in a small saucepan and melt over a low heat. Whisk the eggs with the butter, ensuring the butter isn’t toooo hot otherwise the eggs will curdle. Make a hole in the flour and pour the butter and eggs.

Next, add the milk in small quantities and continue to whisk until you have a smooth batter.

Thinly slice some butter on to a paper kitchen towel and use this to grease the plates of the waffle machine. You only need to do this at the beginning. Start pouring the batter in, be careful not to put too much in otherwise when you place the lid down the mixture will leak from the sides (this has happened to me more than once!)

Chocolate Sauce

2 tbsp coconut oil
2 tbsp 100% cacao powder
Honey to sweeten as desired

To make your own chocolate sauce, melt the coconut oil in a pan over a low heat and add the cacao powder. This will be very bitter without any sweetener so add honey if you desire.

Pour the chocolate sauce over the waffles and top with whipped cream and a few sliced strawberries. Serve!

IMG_2683

IMG_2686

Leave a Reply

