Double-chocolate brownies, because why wouldn’t you?

The betch is back.

To-do Did
New computer: check
New job: check
No more moaning about the two previously mentioned subjects like I did before: check.

Life has evolved pretty nicely since the last time I posted. As the first line on my to-do list explains, I finally bought a new laptop. This machine feels like a beast compared to my previous 8-year old dinosaur that was literally falling apart at the nails and screws. This was a sweet purchase I was finally able to make, being fortunate enough to now be paid like a real human being at my new job!!

I very unexpectedly upgraded my professional occupation in March – during the space of a month, I had a phone interview, 3 face-to-face interviews, handed in my notice, (took a weekend trip to Bruges!) and started at the new place. In the interest of sharing, I’m now working as a communications assistant in an international economic organisation, (can I get a hell yeeeeeh). So far I’ve learnt masses and I’m loving the rich and diverse responsibilities I get to be involved with.

Not to bore you with too much real-life talk (I mean yeah, some background is nice but we all only really care about the food), lets move on to the real star of this post. Chocolate brownies. A classic. The comforting taste of gorgeous, rich, dense chocolate is loved by everyone – but admittedly, this can go wrong more often than right.

I knew I wanted to make chocolate brownies during the week, mainly to bring to the office because everyone shares something cute and delish every once in a while with the rest. And for me, you either go home-made or go home. In the past, I normally encoutered the struggle of making them too cakey; the interior was fluffy and light instead of dense. Saying that, I’m also not really on the ‘fudgey’ side of brownies, I prefer compact rather than sticky. Oh the ordeal! I had a browse on the net as to what ratios people used to get the right consistency and took to composing a recipe from here and here. Result? I honestly think they’re the best I’ve ever made and will stick to the basics of this recipe from now on, changing only the almonds for example with walnuts or cranberries etc. ALSO, for the crazies out there (jk, sometimes I’m one of them too), this recipe happens to be gluten-free and refined-sugar free. So there!

Double-chocolate brownies, because why wouldn’t you (Yes, this is the official name).

Ingredients

130g dark chocolate, 70% cocoa
60g coconut oil*
3 medium eggs*
6 tablespoons of agave syrup*
2 tablespoons of 100% cacao powder**
3 tablespoons of rice flour**
150g sliced almonds
*organic, because we’re fancy like that
** these two can quickly dry out a recipe so don’t go crazy

Method

Break the chocolate into pieces and put in a saucepan with the coconut oil over a low heat. Stir occasionally until all melted and take off the heat to cool down. (Coconut oil gives a luscious gloss to the chocolate, try and stop yourself sneaking spoonfuls straight from the pan.)

Crack the eggs in a bowl, add the agave syrup and whisk until the mixture has doubled in size. When the chocolate has cooled down, add to the egg mixture and slowly incorporate. Next add the flour and cacao powder and fold in gently.

Add a handful of sliced almonds into the mixture. Line a small baking dish with parchment paper, pour the mixture and cover the top with a light scattering of almonds. Bake in a pre-heated oven for 10mins at 170 C.

Remove from the oven, allow to cool and cover lightly with powdered sugar. Slice into squares and serve, or stuff your face with them. I leave that choice entirely up to you. Happy Sunday x

IMG_6065

 

 

2 thoughts on “Double-chocolate brownies, because why wouldn’t you?

  1. I love that you’ve provided us with a gluten free
    fantastic recipe with ratios to help them turn out right!!!
    I need to find out more about that honey and rice flour !
    Btw tried Quinoa for the first time this weekend- I’m a convert- thank you 😘Bisous!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

